26 October 2021
Restoration – Locksmithing Hotel de la Marine
Inaugurated in June 2021 after 5 years of work, the Hôtel de la Marine is an architectural jewel that has adorned the Place de la Concorde for over 260 years.
The history of the Hôtel de la Marine ?
Place Louis XV, now Place de la Concorde (since 1795), was created by the city of Paris in 1748, with the aim of building a statue to the glory of King Louis XV.
In 1765, the Garde-Meuble Royal, the institution in charge of the king’s furniture, was installed in the present Hôtel de la Marine.
The Ministry of the Navy, headed by the Count of La Luzerne and Jean-Baptiste Berthier, moved into the palace housing the Garde-Meuble in 1789 and remained there for 226 years.
Since the departure of the Ministry of the Navy in 2015, the Hôtel de la Marine has been entrusted to the Centre des monuments nationaux. Responsible for highlighting this exceptional heritage, the CMN has conducted a large-scale restoration of the entire monument between 2017 and 2021.
The aim is to restore the building and bring visitors back to the time of the Garde-Meuble de la Couronne when it was built in the 18th century.
Taking part in this exceptional restoration, Crézé had the privilege of restoring, in particular, all the interior and exterior locksmithing of the Hôtel de la Marine.
Discover some of the works carried out by Crézé’s teams on this splendid national work.